Kaleidoscope – the song

Pieces shatter on the floor

My broken dreams stretch to the door

Shards of grief lie scattered at my feet

It seems that I will never fly

I’m beaten down – don’t wanna try

I hang distorted pictures in defeat

 

Coz life is a kaleidoscope

Can’t even breathe, can’t even cope

And looking out I see no hope for me

Can broken lives ignite a flame

Of passion that burns fear and shame?

Or will this darkness claim the world I see?

 

My heartbeat falters in a blackened night

I need someone to show me there is light

 

Tears have stained my life in grey

Dirty colors twist and fade

A picture-perfect snapshot of despair

It rips and tears imploding in

The ashes of chaotic din

But somehow someone hears my silent prayer

 

Coz life is a kaleidoscope

Can’t even breathe, can’t even cope

And looking out I see no hope for me

But then You hold me in Your eye

My broken colors intertwine

A glimpse of life within Your light I see

 

You open eyes, You shine Your love, You heal

And my kaleidoscope is beautiful

 

How can it be?

Fragmented hearts now beat in harmony

God, pure and strong

You make prisms with the pieces of my song

 

You open eyes, You shine Your love, You heal

And my kaleidoscope is beautiful

 

© 2011 Emma McGeorge

2 thoughts on “Kaleidoscope – the song

  1. Esther says:

    I really love this song. Shanna played it for me once, I’d like to hear it again. You’re very talented Emma, so glad that you’ve started a blog to share your thoughts with us. 🙂
    Esther

Leave a Reply

