Where Angels Fear to Tread

Angels – I view them with awe and perhaps a little envy. They are luminous, transcendent beings, who fly along the rays of the sun and walk among the stars.

But maybe, just maybe, it is that angels look upon us in the same way. We, the down-to-earth and non-glimmerous beings, who walk upon the solid surface of our planet. We, who live day to day in the grit of this fallen world.

It is hard to be a human being. To be in this world, but at the same time not of it.

I grapple with my world and myself every day. Sometimes I feel like I am flying, but mostly I am all too aware of my feet treading, hopefully delicately but more likely haphazardly, on another day.

Yet there is a certain something about being a human being.

I create and dream. I learn and share. I grieve and I delight. I thrive. I relate, human to human, knowing that this could result in either sorrow or joy, but relating anyway. I live deeply and love deeper.

I reach out to and know an almighty God, who first reached out to me when He stepped down onto this earth – as a human.

Maybe, just maybe, the angels look down from their heavenly realm, and regard me with awe and perhaps a little envy.

I dare to be human. I dare to know, really know as only a human can know, God.

I walk where angels fear to tread.

© Emma McGeorge

3 thoughts on “Where Angels Fear to Tread

  1. wookiesloth says:

    I’ve been eagerly waiting for this post, what I didn’t expect was it being ready so soon. I have often wondered what angelic beings thought of those who trudge through the human existence. Have you seen the movie ‘city of angels’?

  2. Vicki says:

    Definitely a perspective worth considering & pondering on. We so often lament our humanness; it is good to be reminded that we share our humanity with the Lord of lords and King of kings! Thank you for this insightful post, Em.

  3. Ian McDougall says:

    What an awesome perspective, allows us to be human, I love to conjecture that they get excited when we awake as they get ready for the task of today. To protect and serve, similar to what we should do. Selah.

Leave a Reply

