Moments

Today, I had a moment. Actually, there were several moments that cascaded into my lap – but this moment was notable because it was not a particularly happy one.

Not long after this, I had another moment. But this moment filled me with peace and delight. It was a moment of beauty and happiness, and the sweet knowledge that another person cared.

Life is made of moments, it seems. Long, delicious moments of wonder and awe, like a sunset taking its time to paint the sky. Brief moments of a shared laugh or a loving smile or a glance that speaks a thousand words.

So many moments are scattered throughout my life, adding colour and texture and “aliveness”.

We hold those better moments in high regard, await them with eager anticipation, do all we can to make them last… Moments are indeed a part of life – yet what defines a true moment?

Because, no matter how glamorous and exciting some moments can be, I have come to realize that my happiest moments are not necessarily the ones bathed in success or accumulation or gratification, sprinkled with glitter and gold.

The truth is this: my favourite moments, whether they be huge occasions or the smallest spark in the dark, are the moments that are shared with people.

People who have impacted my life in ways they will never know. People who are a part of my present journey (those brave and valiant souls!). People who have, I am humbled to find, been somehow blessed by me.

These are the people who have coloured my canvas. They have touched my heart in a million unforgettable ways. They have filled my life with moments.

Some have been difficult moments, but I have come out stronger and wiser for their honesty and concern. Some have been defining moments, and I am all the richer for the time and effort another person has put into me. And some moments have been of no special significance, except for the beauty they have held simply in connecting with another person.

So many people, so many moments – why should I hold back from making a moment for you in return?

© Emma McGeorge 2013

4 thoughts on “Moments

  1. Mamma says:

    Wow! Thank you for this insightful post… It’s been an honour and a blessing to share moments with you, Em! You’re so right – moments we share with people may not always be easy, but they are always significant.

  2. Diane says:

    Emma, you have such a way with your writing, may our Lord Bless you as you continue as he leads you. Diane Pawley

Leave a Reply

