Into Me See

Some people wear their heart on their sleeve. I prefer to keep mine inside my rib cage.

For whatever reasons, I have never been one to pour out my soul to a willing listener. Sometimes I share my troubles and difficulties, my wonderings and deepest thoughts – but many times I prefer to quietly and anonymously ponder.

Why is it so hard to be open? Why do I struggle to express my heart’s beat? I guess I fear that delicate word – vulnerability. It seems to go hand in hand with trust, which is another word that can be tripped over.

Yet I am coming to know the beauty and strength that can be found in utilizing such words. They allow my burdens to be carried by another. They allow my confusion to be clearly seen in another’s light. They allow me to connect genuinely, honestly, humanly with another.

Is it easy? No. It may never be easy, and I may never naturally be open and real and, well, vulnerable.

But I am all too aware of the gift it is when another person opens up their heart to me. They speak and share and trust, and I must hold their heart with gentleness and strength.

By God’s grace, I will never treat lightly the baring of another’s heart. By God’s grace, every time another shares with me, I will honour them with trust.

I appreciate their gift of openness, and I am learning to share my own heart. I am learning to be open and real. I am learning to be vulnerable, trusting that the other will hold my heart gently in return.

It is a strange and unique and beautiful thing. When I share my words and heart with another, and when I receive another’s words and heart, we are both allowing and being allowed a sacred glimpse into another’s soul.

Because this is the very meaning of intimacy: into me see.

© Emma McGeorge 2013

The idea of “intimacy = into me see” came from Dietrich Soakai of South Auckland Poets Collective. A sample of his work can be found here  

5 thoughts on “Into Me See

  1. Vicki says:

    Very true Em! Something I’d like to ponder on more… You have a wonderful gift of putting things into words in a way that makes everything clearer. Thank you!

  2. Neil says:

    Are you not already on that road, Emma, – the first steps – that open up your inner thoughts, by sharing these thoughts? The trust that you develop with someone close becomes a beautiful thing and grows with time, and develops into a two-way passage, gaining more and more strength. It IS the bond that beings two hearts to beat as one!
    I enjoyed reading that….. don’t be too afraid, knowing Who has His hand on you ALL the time..!
    ; {)

    • Em says:

      Very true – and this blog is a part of that journey…
      Thank you for your sweet words and encouragement – I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

