It’s All I’ve Got

20140318_222539

I broke it

the words slipped out

like shards

painfully

scraping the soul.

the heart was

heavy

with its own unbearable weight.

goodness and lightness

beat within, but so apparently did

darkness

I’m not perfect

At least I had tried

or attempted to try

or wanted to try

or wanted to want to try.

humanity is an

invisible reality of a

shackle

that can never be shaken

off

I must give something, I will give something

I only wish I had something

else

to give,

something perfect and pure and whole and

worthy

What, O what, can I give now?

is there

anything

here that I would want to

give to

You?

if there is I cannot see it.

can You?

please?

because

beauty no longer sleeps

alone

because

love is stained now by the

ink

of a bleeding pen

because

tears

spill out of the cracks of a

broken heart

because it was too hard

the world

was too cruel and

life

was too unknown and

I

was too confused and

careless and

weary and

bitter and

afraid.

So this is me

slowly

I lift my heart,

quietly

I finish

It’s all I’ve got

gently

deeply

unwaveringly

He completes

It’s all I ever wanted

20140318_224231

© Emma McGeorge, March 2014

2 thoughts on “It’s All I’ve Got

  1. Hayley says:

    So beautiful 🙂

  2. Rosalie McGeorge says:

    Oh Em….

Leave a Reply

