I Need You

I need you.

I need you to fill a need.

I just need a friend.

I need you to point out the silver lining,
because I am shadowed
in cloud.

I need you to laugh infectiously,
because I have forgotten
how to smile.

I need you to pick the brightest flowers,
because I no longer see the roses
among the thorns.

I need you to walk beside me in the unknown,
because even in my confusion I can sense when I’m
walking alone.

I need you to hold me silently,
because I unknowingly crave the gentle strength of
an embrace.

I need you to catch the weight of my sorrows,
because my own vessel cracks with the overflow of
my tears.

I need you to let me storm and rage and weep,
because I can’t remember if it’s okay to
fall apart.

I need you to take my hands and raise them,
because I have given up
on prayer.

I need you to tell me that I’m worth all this,
that you love me anyway,
that you care.

So that one day, someday,
I can be the one to fill a need
for you.

wpid-20140307_104119.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Emma McGeorge, April 2014

4 thoughts on “I Need You

  1. Rosalie McGeorge says:

    No words…<3

  2. Mamma says:

    This is beautiful Emma; I’ve been in this place many times, yet never have I been able to express it in words, just feel it. Your words are so comforting to me – they fill in the gaps. Thank you for your honesty. I know God loves us to be real because then He can fill our needs…

  3. Jeanette says:

    I love this Emma💓

  4. Dave Fern says:

    Hi Emma – lovely to read some of the poems you have written. Obviously a lot of emotion has gone into this one, enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

