I SEE YOU RISE UP

I see you there.

I see you standing alone, your heart in solitary confinement.

I see the longing in your eyes as people walk by in the plural while you wallow in the singular.

I see your hands reaching out, seeking a friendly grasp, returning empty, invisible.

I see the inward shuffling of your shoulders and your smile, because my eyes hold your emptiness in empathy.

I see you wanting to sink beneath the surface of this one-way mirror in anonymity and quiet.

I SEE YOU RISE UP

I see that tear.

I see the deep groove it carved on your soul as it fell, tracking through the dust of brokenness.

I see the splinters of rejection finding their way into the depths of your trust, sudden and sharp.

I see you press desperate fingers against that wound.

I see your heart crack slowly, because my heart cracks at the silent sound of your hurt.

I see you falter under the weight of being undervalued and undercut and underdogged.

I SEE YOU RISE UP

I see your trembling soul.

I see you wearing that heavy garment of fear.

I see the questions and the doubts piling up in your mind, choking the light and dispelling the hope and burying the truth under the lies.

I see you being pierced by that arrow, because my soul aches with the strain of your pain.

I see you falter and stumble and fall and wonder how you could have landed so very low.

I SEE YOU RISE UP

I see you.

I see you rise up.

I see you rise up because you were made to stand.

I see you rise up because that’s the only option from down.

I see you rise up because I look at you and I see the truth, which no loneliness or hurting or falling can ever unmake from being real.

Yes, it’s true.

I see you, and I see the strength of one who has walked alone and found joy.
And I see you, and I see the grace of one who has been hurt and yet healed others.
And I see you, and I see the triumph of one who has taken the blows and shaken the fears and defied the odds and triumphed anyway.

I SEE YOU RISE UP AND LIVE

© Emma McGeorge

One thought on “I SEE YOU RISE UP

  1. Esther S. says:

    Is this describing someone you have met in PNG?
    “Your heart in solitary confinement”. What a stunningly powerful phrase to open with! It evokes a sense that she is imprisoned by her loneliness, and it is a torturous punishment for her.
    “People walk by in the plural while you wallow in the singular” is almost as good. The grammatical terms imply a certain level of detachment emotionally… or rather her ATTEMPT to detach emotionally from the fact of her solitude in the crowd.
    I also loved the part where you describe her wound:
    “I see that tear… the deep groove it carved on your soul as it fell, tracking through the dust of brokenness.
    …Splinters of rejection finding their way into the depths of your trust, sudden and sharp.
    I see you press desperate fingers against the edges of that wound.”
    There are so many vivid images here and the conclusion has to be that the wound is deep and permanent and internal to the very core of her being. It is also not possible for her to heal it herself. The jumble of images and theories about her circumstances which arises from this seem to indicate the jumble in her own mind, and the complexity of her plight. Alone, her healing is impossible, and yet with the kindness of a friend who can introduce her to the great physician, healing is very imminent it would seem.
    I love your empathy Emma. It is one of your most winsome qualities.
    It is also a quality that those of us who are less observant can catch from you in your writings.

    I hope your settling in time is going well.

Leave a Reply

